Melrose Cares: Open Community Dialogue

Click here to report offensive or inappropriate posts.

Schools & School Committee
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Parkland - an excuse to push "kindness, empathy and inclusivity in school and in the community

Same old...
Let\'s Hang
To Michael
I really appreciated your posts, and the time you took to explain your thinking. It is unfortunate that many people are unable to have any sort of dialogue around the issues you presented. They are real issues, as much as others might want to dismiss them. I have been a public school teacher for over 30 years (not in Melrose), and I can attest to the inclination of many, many teachers to push their political views on impressionable students, and almost always do it under the guise of \\\"inclusivity\\\". I rarely voice my opinion, because I have decided that the best I can do for my students is to know my content, prepare and differentiate curriculum for my wide range of students, shut my door, and teach. I \\\"teach\\\" kindness and empathy by actually being kind and empathic in my work with kids- I don\\\'t talk politics, because I don\\\'t believe my job requires it, and I don\\\'t believe my students would benefit from knowing my political views.