Melrose Cares: Open Community Dialogue

Click here to report offensive or inappropriate posts.

Schools & School Committee
Start a New Topic 
1 2
Author
Comment
Re: Yes to the override! Pay our teachers more!

Pay our teachers!
So the average teacher salary is $53,569 before the huge raise. So now that they have gotten their massive 26% raise, the average teacher salary will be listed on the DOE website as $67,497, right? Which is still $10k less than Newton. But as for this massive raise, I will believe it when I see it on the website. Til then, I am advocating for greater teacher pay.

They work 180 days a year and still make more than our Fire fighters and Police Officers. Does that sound fair to you?
Also why are you comparing Melrose to Newton? Newton has money coming out of its ears, we are no where near that wealthy.

As the saying goes....you can't change dumb!

I think the saying is "You can't fix stupid.", but I take your point.

I have been teaching for almost thirty years. Most of my friends are teachers, I mentor many new teachers, I am involved with hiring in my district, and I love teaching. I have the best job in the world for me. I am paid well for work that brings me great satisfaction. I won't get into the argument about teachers "having their summers off" (I know only a handful of teachers who can really "take the summer off", and go back in the fall prepared). I don't mind working in the summer. I do it to be a better teacher. I know many, many teachers who do the same.