Gogouyave.com's Forum

Gouyave Talk
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Obeah practitioners : are the 'island born' obeah practitioners a waste of time or space?

Socio-religiously speaking, ‘obiah practitioners’ or obiah doctors, as they were called on the plantation estates, may be the zoom-in on part of the ‘slaves tribal’ beliefs – the obeah was targeted and used mostly against the brutal slave owners. I am intrigued because obeah folks had powers based on their ‘obia dancing’, to find poisons, stop women from miscarrying, to find lost things etc, but I believe that behind the lower case p-power – God, Creator.

I wish to make a distinguished differentiation between the present day obeah, of which, I will be the first to admit, I have no knowledge, because the early documents stated, that ‘island born’ slaves were not able to perform any of this ‘obia setting on others’. Should I believe this? At the end of the day, I believe the enslaved folks by man, would have emerged from one of the 12 biblical tribes – and maybe somewhere, given power as to what they swiftly displayed and brought fear to their slave masters especially as documented on a south American country colonial records.