Gogouyave.com's Forum

Views expressed on this website are those of the person or persons posting the message and does not reflect the views of Gogouyave.com

Rules Of this Talk Shop

1. Do not use this forum to post any material which is knowingly false and/or defamatory, obscene, vulgar, hateful, abusive, threatening, or an invasion of a person's privacy, or otherwise a violation of any laws.

2. Finally, the owners of this web site reserve the right to remove any messages posted, for legal reasons. 

So please! please! try to keep your posts clean. Webmaster

Gouyave Talk
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
The passing of Lauristan Hosten

He would be my younger brother.

I was blest by the Almighty to have Lauristan Hosten in my life. He would have been my younger brother had there been a choice in who our siblings are.
The next best thing happened, though. He became one of the star pupils of my memorable Std. VI class during the last year I was a teacher in the St. John’s Catholic School in Gouyave, Grenada.
On one of my visits home many years later, I ran into the then adult Lauristan. He came over to Dr. John Wright’s home where I was staying, and over several glasses of fresh coconut water and several mangoes, we travelled back down memory lane of that lovable last Std. VI class that I last taught.

“Teach,” he said, “I always remembered what you used to tell me as a little boy.”
“I don’t recall, what was it?” I asked. “You are a smart boy, please don’t waste it,” he responded. “And thanks for the help you gave me and Stephen in Arithmetic.”
I honestly did not recall the conversation, but if it occurred, I didn’t realize at that time, that this was exactly what I was doing. But of course, I felt immensely proud that at least one of my students felt that I was a positive impact on his life.
The meaning of the line became apparent to me. “If I can help somebody then my living is not in vain.” Maybe the quote is not quite correct, but the sentiment certainly is.